Department of Wind Instruments, Percussion and Chamber Music

Head: Grzegorz Jurczyk

The Department of Wind Instruments, Percussion and Chamber Music was created on 1st October 1991. It offers its students full-time study programmes in four specializations in the following woodwind instruments: Flute, Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon, and four specializations in brass instruments: Trumpet, French Horn, Trombone and Tuba. The specialization in Percussion involves training and practice in playing all major percussion instruments found in a symphonic orchestra. Students of the Department train to become qualified soloists, work with professional chamber ensembles, symphonic orchestras or opera house orchestras. They may also pursue a teaching career on completing the Music Pedagogy Programme. The Department combines regular class teaching with annual specialist workshops on contemporary musical literature, reed technology, new trends in designing mouthpieces for brass instruments.

The teaching staff of the Department:



Jadwiga Kotnowska, full professor

Andrzej Łęgowski, full professor



Krzysztof Wroniszewski, D.Mus.A., D.Litt.



Grzegorz Dąbrowski, D.Mus.A., D.Litt.



Zenon Kitowski, D.Mus.A.

Przemysław Buczek, D.Mus.A.

Andrzej Dudziński, M.Mus.



Włodzimierz Spodymek, D.Mus.A.



Roman Gryń, full professor

Tomasz Gluska, D.Mus.A.


French Horn

Wojciech Bryliński, M.Mus.



Paweł Kalicki, M.Mus.



Kazimierz Kmieć, M.Mus.



Grzegorz Jurczyk, full professor

Waldemar Franczyk, M.Mus.